Book reading with Jonathan Ashley, author of Out of Mercy!

Join us for a book reading with Jonathan Ashley, author of Out of Mercy.


Out of Mercy is a bloody, darkly funny western noir that keeps company with the best of Elmore Leonard and Cormac McCarthy. Perfect for fans of Tarantino and The Sisters Brothers.


It's the fall of 1882. Kentucky has far from recovered from the Civil War. The small town of Mercy, a rest stop for the emotionally and physically disfigured drifters left over from the war, will soon pay the price of the violence inherent in American culture, and the racisim still palpable throughout the hills and hollers of rural Kentucky. The first sign of doom arrives on horseback: three outlaws wanted in Virginia and other parts for robbery and murder. A beautiful, tomboyish white young woman with blue tattoos on her face, markings from her time as a captive of Apaches; a former slave whose days of cowtowing to polite white society are over, and the most deadly and mysterious, the motley gang's leader, Tompal Banks.


Jonathan is the author of The Cost of Doing Business. His work has appeared in Crime Factory, A Twist of Noir, LEO Weekly, Kentucky Magazine and Yellow Mama. This is his second novel. He lives in Lexington, KY.


On our downstairs floor. Free & open to the public.