Stray City by Chelsey Johnson

straycity.jpg
straycity.jpg

Stray City by Chelsey Johnson

25.99

A beautiful signed copy of Stray City by Chelsey Johnson, already a staff pick and must-read for all Chop Suey customers! Join us for a book reading and signing at Babes of Carytown (3166 W. Cary St.) with Chelsey Johnson.

Claire's pick: The 1990s Portland of Stray City is a whirlwind of punk rock and lesbian drama worthy of the L Word, the perfect setting for Midwestern Andrea Morales to make a new family for herself. And she does, first with her “Lesbian Mafia” and then when she accidentally falls pregnant and decides to raise the baby herself. Andy is painfully easy to identify with, especially when she worries about the repercussions of making a bad decision for good reasons, or vice versa.  Stray City is the kind of book that sucks you in and makes you over while you’re reading it –you find yourself reaching for your jean jacket and combat boots when you get dressed, and start thinking that maybe it’s time to get back into zine-making.  This charming and deeply empathetic debut novel is perfect for fans of Justin Torres’ We The Animals or Ariel Gore’s We Were Witches

About the book: Twenty-four-year-old artist Andrea Morales escaped her Midwestern Catholic childhood—and the closet—to create a home and life for herself within the thriving but insular lesbian underground of Portland, Oregon. But one drunken night, reeling from a bad breakup and a friend’s betrayal, she recklessly crosses enemy lines and hooks up with a man. To her utter shock, Andrea soon discovers she’s pregnant—and despite the concerns of her astonished circle of gay friends, she decides to have the baby.

A decade later, when her precocious daughter Lucia starts asking questions about the father she’s never known, Andrea is forced to reconcile the past she hoped to leave behind with the life she’s worked so hard to build.

A thoroughly modern and original anti-romantic comedy, Stray City is an unabashedly entertaining literary debut about the families we’re born into and the families we choose, about finding yourself by breaking the rules, and making bad decisions for all the right reasons.

About the author: Chelsey Johnson received an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and a Stegner Fellowship from Stanford University. Her stories and essays have appeared in Ploughshares, One Story, Ninth Letter, The Rumpus, and NPR’s Selected Shorts,among other outlets. She has received fellowships to the MacDowell Colony, the Virginia Center for Creative Arts, and Signal Fire Arts. Born and raised in Northern Minnesota, she currently lives in Richmond, Virginia, and teaches at the College of William & Mary. This is her first novel.

Quantity:
Add To Cart