The Art of Cruelty by Maggie Nelson

theartof.jpg
theartof.jpg

The Art of Cruelty by Maggie Nelson

16.95

Amber’s Pick: The Art of Cruelty by Maggie Nelson. Maggie Nelson (yet again) displays her absolute brilliance in this collection of essays on violence and cruelty in various forms of art. Using a wide span of examples, she makes art criticism accessible and comprehensible, especially for those (like me) that aren’t well versed on the subject. Poetic, personal, profound, what more could you ask for in a collection! Maggie is a genius, I would follow her to the end of the world. Prepare for a very long reading list after this one.

About the book: Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath’s poetry to Francis Bacon’s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono’s performance art, Nelson’s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Quantity:
Add To Cart